T9 search doesn't search in Phonetic name fields anymore

Moderators: dwp, devin

Post Reply
giovannibgr
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 2:26 pm

T9 search doesn't search in Phonetic name fields anymore

Post by giovannibgr » Fri Mar 16, 2012 2:41 pm

Hi there,

Since v2.1 the T9 search on the dialer tab stopped searching by Phonetic Name. I think this feature was introduced exactly in the last version before 2.1 and I was so happy about it that I updated almost all my foreign contacts' names (e.g. Name/Surname in greek, Phonetic 1st/last name in latin characters)... The result is that now I cannot find any of them through T9 :S

I see that I can add other languages to T9 search, but key T9 layouts for each language differs from English and I don't want to remember each one. That's why I chose to use Phonetic names as a search key.

I'm posting this as a bug, because it did work in the previous version - sorry if it cannot be considered as such.

Thank you in advance for your answer!

camel
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: T9 search doesn't search in Phonetic name fields anymore

Post by camel » Tue Mar 20, 2012 12:15 am

giovannibgr wrote:Hi there,

Since v2.1 the T9 search on the dialer tab stopped searching by Phonetic Name. I think this feature was introduced exactly in the last version before 2.1 and I was so happy about it that I updated almost all my foreign contacts' names (e.g. Name/Surname in greek, Phonetic 1st/last name in latin characters)... The result is that now I cannot find any of them through T9 :S

I see that I can add other languages to T9 search, but key T9 layouts for each language differs from English and I don't want to remember each one. That's why I chose to use Phonetic names as a search key.

I'm posting this as a bug, because it did work in the previous version - sorry if it cannot be considered as such.

Thank you in advance for your answer!
maybr the translation was not done for your language ?
please can you translate it very quick ? because the next version is almost ready for launching.
see: http://crowdin.net/project/dw-contact-group-manager
you can do it online

giovannibgr
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 2:26 pm

Re: T9 search doesn't search in Phonetic name fields anymore

Post by giovannibgr » Wed Mar 21, 2012 1:21 pm

It seems that the translation of t9_search.xml for Bulgarian has not been done at all.
I actually cannot understand how should this file be edited, but all the strings there are in latin characters, while I guess they should be in cyrillic.

Could you give me some quick instructions to translate at least this file?

I could also edit the Greek one, once I understand how to.

As for the rest of the translations, I'd like to cooperate on them too, I only have to find more time :)

giovannibgr
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 2:26 pm

Re: T9 search doesn't search in Phonetic name fields anymore

Post by giovannibgr » Wed Mar 21, 2012 1:36 pm

Hi again,

Apart from the translation part in my previous message, please note that I was not referring to multilanguage T9 search.
I was referring to T9 search for text in latin, in multiple fields, and especially the phonetic name.

For example, before version 2.1, I was able to find the contact with Display Name: Бачо (cyrillic letters), which has Phonetic name: Bacho (latin letters). I was able to find him by pressing the respective letters on the latin T9 keyboard (2, 2, 2, 4, 6) - I don't even know where "ч" is on a bulgarian T9 keyboard, but I guess the sequence would be something like 2, 2, 8, 6 which is obviously different. Therefore, the match was definitely done against the phonetic name, not the display name.

So, could you please check why did the T9 search in the phonetic name fields break?

Thank you in advance!

camel
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: T9 search doesn't search in Phonetic name fields anymore

Post by camel » Thu Mar 22, 2012 1:14 am

not sure, but this could be, because phoen name fileds now removed, and another structure is now active.
the t9-search will be very slow, because user are wanting:
prefix, suuffix, first, last, middle, phoen, nickname, organization ...
then the t9 doesn't make sense any more, because it is so slow, taht you can forget it.
now we added "organiaztion" in t9, too.

i'm not nay more sure how to make this.
to find a "first+organization" this makes sense, this we added.
but to use such kind of fields (phoenic contact fields), i'm not any more, if this makes sense ...
sorry, maybe i must think about ... but with every field search it is getting 20% slower ...
and making hundreds of options is also senseless, and lust also be analyzed and loaded to build a query ...
i will think about ..

giovannibgr
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 2:26 pm

Re: T9 search doesn't search in Phonetic name fields anymore

Post by giovannibgr » Thu Mar 22, 2012 1:59 pm

I understand... I haven't experienced any delay in the T9 search, but I have only 500+ contacts, I guess there are users with a lot more. And I agree it should remain fast.
I hope that you will find a way to integrate these fields though, it would be very helpful (to me at least :) ). It would be helpful to be optional though, if the users really experience slow searches.

As for the translation, I'm having big trouble with crowdin.net - I've tried using Firefox, IE and Chrome, but I cannot use the site - it's logging me out all the time, most sections show "loading..." constantly, etc.

That's why I've attached the transliterated t9_search.xml for Bulgarian - you can use it if you wish or you could tell me whether I'm doing something wrong on the site above in order to commit it normally.

Thank you.

camel
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: T9 search doesn't search in Phonetic name fields anymore

Post by camel » Fri Mar 23, 2012 12:45 am

for now we added all different name fields to show/view.
for t9-search ... there is only now added the "normal" name fields and "organiaztion" and all combinations of it.
we will see, if we will also make a choise which fields should be supported on t9-search, but therefore we must write a query builder - otherwise it is a mess.
soon the new version 2.1.1 is online with a lot of new functions.
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2491&p=3685#p3685
cu camel

camel
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: T9 search doesn't search in Phonetic name fields anymore

Post by camel » Fri Mar 23, 2012 11:00 am

giovannibgr wrote: As for the translation, I'm having big trouble with crowdin.net - I've tried using Firefox, IE and Chrome, but I cannot use the site - it's logging me out all the time, most sections show "loading..." constantly, etc.

That's why I've attached the transliterated t9_search.xml for Bulgarian - you can use it if you wish or you could tell me whether I'm doing something wrong on the site above in order to commit it normally.

Thank you.
i can not see any attachment which you have added.
but you can upload also the XML file on crowdin directly.
strange, that it is not working for you, tried, and it is working with IE + firefox tested.
or you can send it to our support email address. (in DWC see Feedback via email)
cu camel

giovannibgr
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 2:26 pm

Re: T9 search doesn't search in Phonetic name fields anymore

Post by giovannibgr » Fri Mar 23, 2012 4:57 pm

Thank you very much for the great support (you even tried to support me on my irrelevant crowdin issue :) ).

I tried to upload the xml directly the previous time, I also tried it now, but i'm getting Internal Error message all the same. I'll send a mail, as you suggested.

camel
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: T9 search doesn't search in Phonetic name fields anymore

Post by camel » Sat Mar 24, 2012 12:31 am

giovannibgr wrote:Thank you very much for the great support (you even tried to support me on my irrelevant crowdin issue :) ).

I tried to upload the xml directly the previous time, I also tried it now, but i'm getting Internal Error message all the same. I'll send a mail, as you suggested.
hmm, it is done, but not fully, the new options on 2.1.1 are stoill missing, maybe anything is wrong with your mozilla or pc ?
because crowdin is very comfortable - normally - or try another account - or register it again.
cu camel

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest